Dear Counselor.

After waiting almost 4 months, R and I got our bar exam results.  Thankfully, it was good news for both of us and we celebrated with good food, lots of Salvadoran beer, and new friends.

Last week, we made it official by going to the historic Pasadena Civic Auditorium to take our oath and get sworn into the California State Bar.

The venue was very nice and made the whole ceremony feel, well, ceremonial and special.

I wasn’t going to go because in California, you can be sworn in by a notary public and there is one at work.  Also, R was so whatev about the whole thing that I began questioning whether it was worth it to go to the swearing-in ceremony.  But my team convinced me I should.  My director told me to “celebrate everything” because “why not?”  That made perfect sense to me.

Afterward, we took an early and long lunch and went to Houston’s in Pasadena.  I’ve been to the one in Bethesda, Maryland and had a great steak there.  And, it’s our friends’ favorite restaurant, so we decided to check it out.

The decor is warm and inviting.  We ordered Blue Moons on draft and split the French dip sandwich with fries.

R looking handsome all suited up.

I enjoyed the sandwich, but it wasn’t amazing.  I thought splitting it was plenty for lunch, but probably could’ve finished the whole thing if I was hungry and I didn’t have to work after.  Considering all that, the prices are pretty high at Houston’s, (the sandwich was $18), but since we split it, it wasn’t bad.  Plus, it was a special occasion.  Celebrate!, remember?

Blue Moons at 11am are okay because it's a celebration.

Overall, I enjoyed my meal and my long lunch with R, which we never get to do during the week.  I’m glad I decided to go to the ceremony and that I dragged R there with me (he had actually been sworn in by a notary public the day before).  It is fun to celebrate your accomplishments and to take time to enjoy them.

Lawyered!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Dear Counselor.

  1. Congrats again. That’s cool. Speaking of mediocre sandwiches, I went to a restaurant that messed up a chicken club. How doe that happen?

    • MidwestGirl says:

      Yeah, I mean, I think if it was like an under $10 sandwich I would say it was good. But, $18 for a sandwich that doesn’t blow my mind is kinda rich for my blood. Mess up a chicken club? What does that even mean? I hardly ever order chicken because it’s so easy to cook dry.

  2. Nguyen says:

    Lovin’ the blog (I followed your link on G+). Wanted to recommend Church & State in DTLA, if you haven’t already been. Had a delicious dinner there last time I was in LA. If you’re into it, I highly recommend the bone marrow – moelle de boeuf. Absolutely wonderful! Props on Park’s BBQ too – I also like Soowon Galbi. It’s about 2 blocks from Park’s if I recall correctly. Chosun Galbee ain’t bad either.

    Oh, and congrats on the bar!

  3. Nguyen says:

    How am I just now finding out about this?? We could have tore up some serious samgyeopsal while you were here!

  4. […] law school, I graduated law school, I moved to California with R, I took and passed the bar, I was sworn into the California State Bar making me an actual real lawyer, I got a new job, and I started this blog.  Whew.  I’m […]

  5. […] car”.  R started his new job and I started my fellowship.  Michigan won the Sugar Bowl.  We passed the bar.  We spent our first Christmas together.  I ended my fellowship and got a new job.  I bought a […]

Leave a Reply

