Nothing says love like fried chicken.

I hate handling chicken.  In my near 30 years of existence I don’t think I started buying raw chicken to prepare at home until last year.  You might find that unusual because it seems like chicken is a pretty standard intro meat that even the most novice cooks prepare, but I know for a fact that I am not the only one who finds it disgusting (I’m looking at you, V).  It just doesn’t seem right that if you undercook it or accidentally contaminate something with it (see, no other meat I can think of can contaminate stuff), you DIE.  Fine, I might be exaggerating a bit, but it’s still gross.

All that to say, I always tell R that I must really love him to cook him chicken.  This next recipe is quite tasty and I’m a big fan of the final product, but the preparation makes me squeamish.  Now, before you click away because you’re thinking I’m about to make some crazy offal dish, I’m telling you that you might want to stick around for some tasty, crispy, and spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings

(2 smallish servings)
Adapted from a bunch of different websites, R’s sister’s healthier non-breaded and broiled recipe (of course we adapted it to make it unhealthy), and the back of the Red Hot sauce bottle.
  • 5 chicken wings
    • Each wing has a “drumstick” and a “wing” part, so that’s actually 5 drumsticks and 5 wings = 10 pieces.  I had two drumsticks and two wings and R had the rest.  With a bunch of raw carrots, this was enough for me.  R said he was still hungry.  The last time we did this we also made homemade fries with one potato and that was definitely a hearty meal.
  • Oil for deep frying
    • We used vegetable oil.
  • Breading
    • 1/4 C flour
    • 1/2 tsp paprika
    • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
    • 1/4 tsp salt
    • Dash of black pepper
  • Sauce
    • 1/4 C Red Hot sauce
    • 1/4 C butter
    • Couple dashes of black pepper
    • Dash of garlic powder
  • Serve with carrots, mixed greens, and ranch dressing

If you’ve never prepared them at home, you might not realize that the icky part of making chicken wings is that they don’t come conveniently separated into the “drumsticks” and “wings”.  Maybe they do sometimes, but the package we bought weren’t, so I had to do it.  And, that’s not it.  There is, um, other “prep” needed (see direction #2) EW.

I’ll save you from detailed pictures, but if you search I’m sure you can find some.

Directions

  • Prep the breading.
    • In a small bowl mix together the flour, paprika, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper.
  • Prep the chicken.
    • Check the wings for sharp pieces sticking out of the skin and pull out any you find.  These are feather parts and you probably don’t want to eat them.  Try not to pass out.
    • Each wing has three parts: tip, “wing”, and “drumstick”.
      • If you’ve ever been to Hooters, you know that no one fights over the wingtips.  Find the joint that connects it and cut that part off.  If you’re brave and into the “heat to tail” food movement, then maybe you try frying them too.  I like my Buffalo wings sans claws, so I tossed them out.
      • Find the joint between the drum and the wing and cut that as well.  Don’t be scared to put some weight into it.  Once you got that cut, it’s going to start looking like wings you’re familiar with.
  • Bread the chicken and wait.
    • Place chicken wings in a large glass dish or bowl and sprinkle the flour mixture over them until they are evenly coated. Cover dish or bowl and refrigerate for 60 to 90 minutes.  The first time I did this I just did about 20 minutes because we were hungry and it still turned out yummy.  The second time, I waited 60 minutes.  It did seem like the chicken was crispier.
  • Deep Fry the Chicken.
    • Heat oil in a deep fryer to 375 degrees F .  The oil should be just enough to cover wings entirely.  If you don’t have a deep-fryer, I’m sure you could do this in a pan since folks have been frying things long before the invention of these appliances.  But, I’d consider getting one because they’re awesome.  In addition to wings, we’ve made delicious egg rolls, homecut fries, and falafel.
    • Fry  for 10-15 minutes (until wings begin to brown).
  • Make the sauce.
    • Combine the butter, hot sauce, pepper and garlic powder in a small saucepan over low heat. Stir together and heat until butter is melted and mixture is well blended. Remove from heat.
  • Stir it up.
    • When the wings are done, put them in a bowl and add the hot sauce.  Stir it up until the wings are coated.
  • Serve with veggies and ranch (or blue cheese) dressing.

Even though some of the prep isn’t so fun, I’d make this again.  It’s a tasty  meal for a weekend night.  Fun bar food to eat while drinking a beer.

We ate this while watching Christmas Vacation.  It was funny and still a classic in my mind, but sadly not as funny as I remember it as a kid.  I’m thinking of making December the month of re-watching all the Christmas movies I love: Miracle on 34th Street, Home Alone, It’s a Wonderful Life, A Christmas Story…

Sadly, not all was good in the MWG kitchen this weekend.  I also tried to make chocolate chip cookies, but a too-quiet timer made me burn them in the oven.  I’m about ready to give up on baking.

How was your weekend?  Did you cook anything good?  Anything not-so-good?  What are your favorite holiday movies? 

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Nothing says love like fried chicken.

  1. Karen says:

    I think buffalo chicken is a favorite of everyone. I’ll add this to my Christmas party.

  2. Veronica N says:

    Ew, raw chicken! But the wings look delish.

Leave a Reply

