Christmas in LA.

It was close to 70 degrees out today and hardly feeling like Christmas, but R and I continued his family tradition and went out the day after Thanksgiving and got ourselves a pretty little tree.  This is my first real tree (at my house, Christmas was always a day of going to a lot of church and not a day to celebrate Santa).  I didn’t realize there were so many different kinds!  Apparently, we got one that smells real piney.  I love it and think it’s perfect.

No, those are not snuggies around the tree.

I’m also really excited to start collecting some meaningful ornaments with R.  We just ordered two off Etsy that are super dorky, but super cute.  Don’t worry, I’ll share once they get here.

We spent the day hanging out and Christmas-ing up the house.  We trimmed the tree and decorated the mantle.  I swapped out the pumpkins with cinnamon-scented pine cones and replaced the Autumn-y pictures and cards with Christmas-y ones.

I love saving old greeting cards. When I frame them, I get to think of the lovely people who sent them.

We also had Christmas music playing all day.  I love Christmas albums from Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, and Johnny Cash.  They just make you feel good.

I think we did a pretty nice job bringing Christmas to LA today.  We even made ourselves a fancy steak dinner and broke out the Christmas wine glasses and placemats.  While R’s delicious filets were the star of the meal, I made a new broccoli dish that was pretty tasty.

I don't think you can get any Christmas-ier. Filet mignon, roasted broccoli, & roasted baby reds.

 Cheesy, garlicky, lemony roasted broccoli

(adapted from the Amateur Gourmet – great blog)

  • Broccoli
  • Sliced garlic
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • Lemon juice
  • Cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 425
  2. Cut broccoli into florets.
    1. I used two small heads.  It was a lot of broccoli for two, but we ate it all.
  3. Wash broccoli and then pat or leave out so broccoli is completely dry.
  4. Put broccoli onto a cookie sheet and drizzle on olive oil so they’re good and coated.
    1. Line the sheet with foil for easier clean up.
  5. Sprinkle on sliced garlic and salt and pepper.
    1. I used three big cloves.
  6. Mix that up real good using your hands.
  7. Stick in the oven for 20 minutes.
  8. Take out of the oven and drizzle on some more olive oil and squeeze the juice of a lemon onto the broccoli.
    1. I used half a lemon.
  9. Grate some cheese over the broccoli.
    1. I used Dubliner cheese because that’s all we had.  Parmesan would be good too.

Adam from the Amateur Gourmet (who, like me, also just moved to LA from the East Coast) calls this “The Best Broccoli of Your Life” and, while I’m not quite ready to commit to that title, I really did like this broccoli.  Roasted veggies are just so delicious.  I made a ton, but we ended up eating all of it.  It was a lovely meal to end our very Christmas-y day.

Even though it’s supposed to be close to 80 degrees tomorrow, with the tree, lights, carols, and the house smelling like an intoxicating combination of pine, cinnamon, and a hearty homecooked meal, it’s beginning to look (and sound and smell) a lot like Christmas.

Palm trees and Christmas trees: First Christmas in LA.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Christmas in LA.

  1. We’re going to get the tree today. We made a decent pot pie last night with spiked cider. I think this recipe share thing is a great idea.

    Go Badgers!

    • Sounds delicious! R loves pot pie. Share, please. :) Good luck with the tree. Apparently the Noble and Douglas pines smell piney. We got the Noble.

      Sure, I’ll cheer on your Badgers as long as we are still teamed up against those nuts that will give you a tummyache if you eat them. GO BLUE!

  2. […] the 80 degree weather we’ve had this weekend, all that tree trimming, mantle decorating, and Christmas carol listening has got me in quite the Christmas spirit.  I’m excited that it’s happened so early […]

  3. […] but I used Irish Dubliner cheese instead because that’s all I had.  You’ll see that I use this cheese a lot because R bought a ridiculously huge block of it from […]

Leave a Reply

