Sloppy Joes…slop sloppy Joes!

We had this package of ground beef sitting in our fridge for like six days.  I didn’t put it in the freezer because we have a vacuum sealer thinger, and I’ve been waiting for R to use it to divide and freeze the meat.  I don’t know how to use the thing (I’m no good at anything that plugs in, really).  R tells me it’s perfectly fine to leave meat in the fridge for a little while, but it freaks me out.  It gets all brown.  It doesn’t look right.  So, instead of trying to figure out how to use the sealer myself (or asking R to do it again), I thought of a dinner that would use up as much ground beef as possible.

This ain’t no ordinary sloppy Joe. 

Southwest Chipotle Sloppy Joes (we like things spicy ’round here):

Ground beef, jalapeno, chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, frozen corn, red bell pepper

Garlic powder, salt & pepper, red pepper flakes, ketchup, tomato sauce

  1. Brown the ground beef with some garlic powder, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.  Poke at it with a wooden spoon so it gets all crumbly and sloppy Joe like.  Drain off fat.
  2. Throw in a chopped fresh jalapeno, some chopped red bell pepper, and two sliced up chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (LOVE THIS STUFF).  I also put a spoonful of the adobo sauce in there too because I’m just crazy like that.
  3. Put some frozen corn and whatever else you want in there at this point.  I’m thinking black or kidney beans would be good.  Mix everything around nice and good.  Some cumin would’ve been good here to give it that extra Mexican flavor, but I forgot it.
  4. Now put in about 1/4 cup of ketchup and 1/2 cup of tomato sauce* and let that simmer for a while until it looks right and you’re ready to eat (love the precision of cooking).
  5. Serve on some buns and you’re ready to go.  It’s tasty with some fresh cilantro, but I didn’t have any.

Yum.  Definitely had a kick, so if you’re not a big fan of spice, I’d hold back on the peppers (but, please, not the adobo sauce).  I made a ton of it (the ground beef was scaring me every time I opened the fridge!), so that means I’ll be bringing it for my lunch for a while.  But, that’s fine by me because I’m a big fan of reinventing leftovers.  I can eat it with rice, with noodles, or wrapped up in a tortilla with cheese and broccoli slaw.  It’s also one of those dishes where the flavors get better.

Speaking of leftovers and bringing my lunch, I just LOVE my new Glasslock containers.  I love that it’s airtight so I can just throw it in my bag without worrying about spillage and that it’s made of glass so I can microwave my lunch without worrying about getting crazy plastic cancer (that’s a thing, you know).

I got mine at the Korean supermarket.  Pretty sure they’re a knock-off of another Glasslock – same name, different logo.

One day, I hope to replace all my plastic Tupperware with these (dream big, MWG).  They are pretty expensive (small rectangle one is about $6), so right now I only have two, one for me and one for R.  But, R doesn’t use his much because he’s a baller big law associate and eats filet mignon for lunch not a fan of leftovers.  He’s always making fun of me for saving and freezing everything and says my reinvented lunches are weird.

What do you think?  Are you a fan of leftovers?  Can you eat it for days or do you reinvent them?  

* Tip: It’s rare, if ever, I use an entire can of tomato sauce.  I just put the rest in a Tupperware or Ziploc and freeze it for next time.  To thaw, just run it under some warm water for a bit and then throw it in – no need to completely thaw since it’ll melt in the sauce anyway.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

