Brunch without bloodys is just lunch.

Good morning!  First, a quick administrative note: I changed the settings so you no longer have to register to comment.  Now you can comment as much as your heart desires!  A good morning, it is!  Am I right?

Yesterday, after fully taking advantage of daylights waking up at 6am and lounging around in bed for several hours while it rained, once the sun came back out we headed to brunch at bld in West Hollywood / Mid-City West (not sure what natives call that neighborhood; I just go by what Yelp and Google tell me).  A buddy told me I should go to Urth Cafe in WeHo (that’s, apparently, what folks call West Hollywood) for some good food and celebrity sightings, but it sounded a bit too chaotic for me.

Breakfast, spicy (but anorexic) bloodys, and coffee at bld.

Overall, bld was good.  Coffee was great, spicy bloody was decent, but a bit watery for me (and totally lacking the fixings), and the chorizo potatoes were awesome.  I got the braised pork benedict.  The pork was great, but I’ve discovered that I’m not a fan of caramelized onions.  I really like onions, but caramelize them, and it’s just too sweet.  It’s like onion candy.  Who wants onion-flavored candy?  R got the Spanish scrambler, which he enjoyed.  Feed him anything with chorizo and he’s a happy man.

The wait was about 30 minutes.  We could’ve sat down earlier when the hostess offered us an outdoor table, but as soon as she told us no alcohol outside, R and I were both instantly like, “What?  No.  We’ll wait.”  I heart him.

Tall glass of thick and spiced tomato juice with olives, cheese, and bacon with a side of beer: How the Midwest does a Bloody Mary.

No celebrity sightings here, but it was packed with people and I even ran into someone I went to college with who I haven’t seen since then!  It was fun people-watching while we waited.  A lot of LA people have this vibe about them.  I first called it lazy, but that’s not right.  R said relaxed, but that didn’t seem like it fit because they don’t look very comfortable.  It’s like this slow, slouchy indifference.  Anyone feeling me on this? 

Afterwards, we came back and cleaned the office!  All our nonessentials are in the basement and we’ve got two big bags to give to Goodwill.  Once we get the air mattress, we’ll be ready for D & D and any other friends who want to come visit (hey, you…come visit!).

We ended the night with some red wine and some Google+ hangout time with our fabulous, hilarious, and missed law school buds who are now scattered in LA, Texas, Ohio, and NY.  Technology is pretty amazing.  A wonderful end to a lovely weekend.

Happy Monday, everyone!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

