One year in LA.

Yes, I am the world’s worst blogger.  Clearly, my life has not gotten any less busy since my last post in January when I started my job.  I’m currently assigned to about 35 cases and have been in deposition or court almost every day for the past month.  I’ve taken over 20 depositions, defended a handful, and written and argued too many ex-partes and motions to compel than I care to remember.  I’ve certainly gotten a ton of great experience these past 7 months (but not a whole lot of sleep).

Not the best lit assistant.

Although now is not the best time to try to revive this blog (getting ready for trial this month), I wanted to take the time and reflect on my first year as a MWG in LA.

It’s been almost exactly a year since R and I moved out here.  We left the hot and sticky weather of DC and Chicago and welcomed our new life in Sunny LA (although it’s been pretty hot and sticky here lately too).  We spent a week in our empty little cabin-like house with no furniture except an air mattress and two folding chairs we got from Target.  We ate a Stouffer’s lasagna for like 5 days (Thanks, J) and enjoyed our new view.

Blue skies and palm trees from our porch.

Our furniture and all our things finally came along with R’s old VW van from the 90s and we slowly but surely settled in.  R sold the van that we drove from DC to Chicago in with no air conditioning (only to have the air conditioner start working seconds before shipping it out to LA).

The kitty cat was a bit hot.

R got a flashy new car without telling me first and told me on the phone that it was a “practical car”.  R started his new job and I started my fellowship.  Michigan won the Sugar Bowl.  We passed the bar.  We spent our first Christmas together.  I ended my fellowship and got a new job.  I bought a car — the first time really driving since 2004.  My dear friend G lived with us for a month.  We went to Park City, UT to celebrate E’s birthday.  We ate a lot of great food all over LA.  The pets got used to the new house.

Puppy bed.

Spider cat.

The box is too small.

Giant pet bed, of course.

I went to Seattle to visit a dear college friend with E.  We went to Seattle again for R’s cousin’s wedding.  My cousin S from Korea came to live with us for a year.

Our peach tree.

Although I absolutely loved our little cabin with the lime and peach trees and great big windows, we moved last weekend to a much larger place in the same neighborhood.  R gets his two-car garage, we get an extra room and an office and extra bathrooms, and I get fancy new appliances I never thought I’d enjoy as much as I do.

Prettiest fridge ever.

Prettiest washer/dryer ever.

We’ve had quite a year.  We went from recent law school grads living in a 400 sq. ft condo in DC to being licensed attorneys and also the parents of a 22-year old Korean man living in a 2200 sq. ft house in the hills (not those hills).

I’m excited to see what this next year brings and I hope I’ll have more time to share with you.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “One year in LA.

  1. Emily says:

    Miss you and this blog! Keep it coming. You still have one reader :)

  2. m says:

    one more reader here. you forgot to add that you got a karaoke machine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

