On the road.

Yesterday, G and I got in the car and drove up to San Francisco to surprise visit our dear friend Mi who also moved to Cali from Chicago the same time I did. To make the whole trip and surprise even more unbearably exciting, E flew in from Chi to join the surprise!! The surprise was perfect and we had a great time catching up at Comstock Saloon. The food was delicious as were the cocktails. There will be a post about us midwest girls in SF soon. But for now, a quickie about our on-the-road meal at a California favorite…

20120114-090358.jpg

G and I crossed off another to-do on her list and stopped at In-n-Out while on the road.

20120114-090822.jpg

To be honest (please don’t hate me), my experience with InO has been meh. But everyone yells at me when I say that and say it is my fault I didn’t order from the “secret” menu. So this time I searched the web and prepared for my order.

I ordered a cheeseburger animal style with a side of peppers and fries well done.

20120114-091204.jpg

Don’t get me wrong, it’s good. The lettuce is crisp and the tomato tastes fresh. I’m not a huge fan of caramelized onions but these were pretty yummy. The meat and cheese is awesome as meat and cheese normally is. But it just isn’t as amazing as everyone makes it out to be. And the fries, well done or regular, are flat out bad.

I’m still a bigger fan of Five Guys but at $5.20 for all that plus a drink, InO is at a different price point so it might not be fair to compare. It’s certainly worlds better than McDonald’s. Although (please don’t hate me) the animal style sauce just tastes like Big Mac sauce to me.

Why do I have a bad feeling that I’ve lost some readers. Sorry, Californians. I just tell it as I taste it. More from MWG in SF soon!

What are some of your favorite places to go/eat/see in SF? We are going on an architectural walking tour this morning and I’m super excited to nerd out in the city with my girls.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “On the road.

  1. R says:

    Cheesebuger+Fries+Drink at Five Guys is over $12!! (still $10.50+ if you get the “little cheeseburger”) That’s like comparing Chipotle to Taco Bell :)

    Though In-n-Out fries really do suck. They just taste like soggy potatoes.

  2. Bryan says:

    No post about the King of Tacos?

    • MidwestGirl says:

      Oh, don’t you worry. There will be one soon. King Taco, unlike In-n-Out, definitely lived up to the hype. I just have to find some time to write it. New job’s got me tied up at the moment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

